Goal: Selfish to Selfless

One night recently I realized that I am a very selfish person.  Especially as of late I have been so absorbed with my own thoughts, activities, and feelings that I have overlooked the wishes and needs of my family, friends, and unfortunately my Lord.  Here I am sticking my nose into God’s business  – trying to plan out my own future.  Rushing to get a degree, get married, get a job, get pregnant, get a house, get a car, get an adult life!  Notice a trend?  I have been planning out all of the things in life that I feel like I should get.  Lately I’ve had a selfish attitude.  Not once in the past several months have I planned out and executed a plan that involved giving back to others.

Luckily, this week, I’ve been able to reverse that to a certain extent.  I have spent valuable time caring for and lifting up others.  I am convinced that the Lord created me to serve others.  I am never truly happy unless I can be of help to someone else.

Thank you Lord for fulfilling your purpose in me.  Help me to continually walk more closely to you.  Guide my steps each day.  May the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be pleasing in your sight. 

~Psalm 138:8

~Psalm 19:14

Leave a Reply

