Sitting in a Coffee Shop

You know what’s interesting?  Everyone in a coffee shop manages to stay in their own little world.  I don’t know how they do it.  I so badly want to find out what these other people are doing.  Is this man in front of me a novelist coming up with a fresh twist in his plot line?  Is this girl beside me a college student working on a paper that’s due tomorrow?  Is this couple nearby discussing a project at work?  Are they meeting for a casual post-work date?  Are they in an interview right now?  Who is this person sitting behind me, whom I have barely visually acknowledged but who fills my senses with his presence and the sound of crunching chips?  Is that woman in the corner who is deeply entranced in her book a former drama or music teacher, or maybe even a retired actress?

And then our eyes meet briefly… for an instant the walls between us come down.  And then just as quickly those walls rise up again…

Alas, I am not cut out for the coffee shop mentality.  I have too many questions – too much curiosity to sit quietly as these lives pass me by.  And yet it becomes so easy to drown out the rest of the world, here in this coffee shop, and pour out my most intimate thoughts and feelings.  Perhaps this phenomenon can henceforth be referred to as the Coffee Shop Effect.

Now I am reminded of a song:  Falling in Love at a Coffee Shop by Landon Pigg.  Take a listen if you’ve never heard this song.

Leave a Reply

